fbpx

THE ELFORD Familiar face returns to Mt Lawley


The venue formerly known as The Flying Scotsman, at the iconic site on Beaufort Street, has reopened its doors this month as The Elford, a fresh new corner pub in Mount Lawley.

The Flying Scotsman sadly shut its doors and taps in April last year due to COVID restrictions ending an era for the local establishment. Then Three Pound Group – the team behind The Stables, The Reveley and Australia’s largest pub; The Camfield, acquired the venue a few months later. The team announced the venue would undergo extensive renovations before opening in a year’s time, providing updates through their Facebook page since.


The Elford say the reimagined venue is a contemporary take on art deco design inspired by the original Clarke’s building throughout the two-storey venue, including a much-needed upgrade of the alfresco area. The interior has been carefully considered to pay respect to the history of the building, with “moody, dark green tones reminiscent of an old pub” contrasted with the warmth of timber and hand-made extruded tiles from Italy.

The menu is a current take on conventional pub fare focusing on using seasonal and local produce, while the taps are loaded with frothy favourites and craft brews with a rotating list of packaged craft beer.

X-Press Magazine covers on display at The Elford

The Elford also revised another of the Scotto’s iconic features in their design. The wall down the western end of venue used to be wallpapered with vintage X-Press Magazine covers, while now, the venue has hand-picked a selection of classic magazine covers from past eras which are now framed on the wall near their refurbished kitchen.


The venue, located at 639 Beaufort St, Mount Lawley, has had several occupants over the years including Moondyne Joe’s, Cat & Fiddle, Candy Store Bar, and The Flying Scotsman until recently.

The new venue is connected to the Clarke’s Building which has a rich history and part of the Beaufort Street evolution. Constructed in 1934 as a modern art deco commercial and retail premise. In 1938, William Beattie was running a wine saloon from the premises and was still there in 1949.

The Elford is open now at 639 Beaufort St, Mount Lawley. For more info head to theelfordhotel.com

Comments are closed.