fbpx

Black Swan Theatre – XENIDES

Xenides is a top dollar musical that peers behind the glitz, the glamour and the fabulous prizes of Australia’s favourite game show, Wheel of Fortune.

It’s time to take another spin and revisit Adriana Xenides, the darling of ‘TV Week’ and glossy magazines, who made a visit into almost every lounge room across Australia. She wore 4000 dresses, turned 200,000 vowels, traversed 500km in killer heels and always beamed that million-dollar smile. Adriana won our hearts, and after 19 years, won a place in The Guinness Book of World Records for being the longest serving gameshow hostess. Xenides gives voice to the woman we all knew but who was largely misunderstood and misrepresented. Her story is operatic in scale: rags to riches, the migrant’s journey, the fairytale princess and the tragic icon, who died far too young.

This hotly anticipated new work by Clare Watson and her team of talented collaborators features a wonderful mash-up of ‘80s songs, from TV theme tunes to Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart”, alongside an original composition by electronic power-pop group, The Twoks. An energetic Australian musical exposé that is both hilarious and tender, a tribute and a protest.

Tickets can be purchased here

START TIME
Thursday 25th October 7.30pm
Friday 26th October 8pm
Saturday 27th October 8pm
Tuesday 30st October 7pm
Wednesday 31st October 7pm
Thursday 1st November 8pm
Friday 2nd November 8pm
Saturday 3rd November 4pm
Saturday 3rd November 8pm
Tuesday 6th November 7pm
Wednesday 7th November 8pm
Thursday 8th November 8pm
Friday 9th November 8pm
Saturday 10th November 4pm
Saturday 10th November 8pm
Sunday 11th Nobember 5pm

Comments are closed.